U18 Yorkshire Schools Champions for 2nd Year Running!

Saturday 11th May 2019 was the U18 Yorkshire Schools Water Polo Championships held at St Peter's, York. This is the second year of the competitions existence.  

The Squad

In 2018 we were crowned champions and I am happy to say we were once again the winners of the competition. Unfortunately Bradford Grammar School did not field a team so it was just the three schools this year meaning it was only played over one leg. 

Both St Peter's and Ampleforth have improved massively from last year and we had to work hard for the victories. In truth we started off slow in both matches but we can be happy with our overall performance on the day, scoring some really good goals and for being defensively solid throughout.  


SBSJ   4 - 0   Ampleforth
SBSJ   4 - 0   St Peter's

Player of the Tournament - Thomas Cokewright 

Extra match

SBSJ  2 - 1  Ampleforth 

Final Placings

1st - St Bede's and St Joseph's Catholic College
2nd - Ampleforth
3rd - St Peter's 

Well done to our U18 team on being crowned Champions of Yorkshire for 2019. Thank you for giving up a large part of your Saturday and good luck to all those who will be completing their exams. 

U18 Water Polo team (Yorkshire Champions)

Thomas Cokewright, Theo Cokewright, Stefan Giangregorio, Fran Rocchio, Sam Chewins, Harvey Weston-Beyer, Jastin Barrientos, Bartlomiej Zbik, Jake Benson, Miguel Arevalo, Dane Simora.